SME Enterprise Award Northwest Switzerland 2003

Nanosurf AG, Liestal



Robert Sum (CEO, Nanosurf) with trophy and Lukas Howald (Chairman of the Administrative board, Nanosurf) with certificate.

On the 5th December 2003 the Economic Study, Northwest Switzerland presented the SME Enterprise award for the 6th time. The Award, in the form of a trophy, a certificate and a cheque for 10 000.-- CHF was presented to Nanosurf AG of Liestal.

Nanosurf AG was founded in 1997 as a spin-off from the university Basel. It develops and sells, simply put, microscopes for the analysis of surfaces in the domain, Nanotechnology.

In her laudation Mrs. Dr. Nicole Weiland, president of the jury, praised the merits of the winner. Nanosurf AG has succeeded in turning the original 'room filling' microscope into a handy and in comparison easy to operate instrument. The scanning probe microscope is used in research, industry and even in universities for education purposes. An example of industrial usage is the testing of surface finishes and the early detection of wear and tear.

Nanosurf AG not only improved the user friendliness of the microscope, they have also successfully established this optical instrument on the international market worldwide. With an excellently staff of highly qualified, international, trained and motivated distributors, the new generation microscopes have been placed world wide as the market leader.

Nanosurf and its founders are an excellent example of how, through cooperation with universities, early recognition of chances in the market, healthy financial planning and qualitative growth, an enterprise can evolve into one that is competitive on the world market.

The SME Enterprise Award is awarded by the following regional economic associations: Arbeitgeberverband (Employers association), Basler Volkwirtschaftsbund (Basel Economic Federation), Gewerbverband Basel-Stadt (Trade and Industry Association Basel), Handelskammer beider Basel (Basel chamber of commerce), Wirtschaftskammer Baselland (Chamber of economics). The jury is made up of representatives of companies affiliated to the above associations.